• Search ArtBizBlog


  • I have been blogging for almost 5 years and I still got a lot of super-useful info from this 31-day crash course in blogging.

« Get a better Web site with Clint Watson's help | Main | More artist blogs to love »

Monday, 24 September 2007

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c4e1853ef00e54ee8121d8833

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference What to do with vague email inquiries:

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Good suggestion. I use an add-on for Apple's Mail program called MailTemplate that allows me to do quick responses to such vague inquiries. I have several templates set for different questions, then just use the 'reply with template' command to send the right one.

Oh, boy, Dan! A new toy! I use Apple Mail and don't know anything about templates. This could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

While I agree that responding to vague emails needs to be handled with tact, this email example reeks of scam. As a working artist, and one who does a fair amount of business online, we painters especially are constantly targeted by scams which ask for available works. These emails are then typically followed by promises of payment through a third party or some other unusual means of purchase. So although you've answered the question as to how to handle vague emails, I think you missed a cue to address a larger issue.

I received that exact same email. No kidding. I Googled his complete email address, not just the name. I remember part of it. It was something like "edwsomething@edwsomething.us". This brought up a site listing known scams with a huge list of email addresses, which included his, of scammers. I immediately clicked Spam and deleted his email. Two things made me wary of this email. One: the ".us" and Two: the wording in his sentence was not quite right.

Patrice Erickson
http://patriceerickson.blogspot.com

I also received the exact same email. I've sold a lot online and real buyers always ask about a specific painting and usually tell me where they saw it. These vague emails are always scams. I don't even respond. I just delete them.

I would say that an email from someone I don't know to "undisclosed recipients" doesn't warrent any kind of reply - and I don't think I want him to refer his friends to me. I agree that a serious collector would send me a personal email, usually referring to a specific work, or at least to a specific body of work. I would delete without a thought, just like the emails I get to the faux addresses under my domain name, trying to sell me male enhancements...

A big THANK YOU to everyone for the great advice and comments on the scam that I have recently received. I have dug a little deeper and I believe I found the web site of "Edward". If anyone would like more information, please email me at DGRstudios@aol.com.

In principle I agree fully that firing back with the same rudeness puts you just in the very same league.
Yet in this special case I would never answer because it is quite apparent that it is spam if not a scam. By answering you confirm your valid email address.

http://www.vyala-arts.com/

I got the email as well and immediately dismissed it as scam. Genuine buyers, unless you sell wholesale to designers or the like, will have particular works they are interested in. As it wasn't from an anonymous emailer (Yahoo, Hotmail, etc) I also googled the domain name of his email address to find it didn't exist - that put the case to rest for me.

I have a question on email etiquette and recognizing receipt of a message. I contacted several people about an ebook I just released, asking for endorsements. I received a couple of replies that said, "Give me a few days. I'll look it over and get back to you." Do I write back and say, "Thank you. I look forward to your reply," or just wait for the second email. These are busy people who have email boxes stuffed with requests and do their business online. I don't want to add another unneccessary email to the inbox, but don't want to seem unappreciative, either. We face this situation frequently as we send marketing material to galleries and art consultants, and I'm never sure what to do. To send or not to send??

I also received the "Edward" email. I treated it as legitimate, asking for more information about himself and what he wants. This is because I have had very brief one line inquiries come through my website. The first contact is often tentative, until they know the email works. Thanks Alyson for a good way to move the conversation along. And thanks also for those who talked about the spammer. Hejust asked me for images of recent work. Not sending him any.

Dear Alyson,
I also received the "Edward" letter and treated it as a scam. On September 11th, Robert Genn,in his newsletter,addressed concern of these type of letters.
http://clicks.robertgenn.com/phony.php.It's worth reading and heeding!
Helen
http://pineshorestudio.blogspot.com

Shelley,
Yes, send thank yous! (Thank yous aren't spam.) I'm sure your potential endorsers would be delighted to receive them.
Laura

Boy, Edward has been busy, hasn't he?!

I agree that it smells like a scam or spam. But if you're diligent, you'll be fine.

Carla: I'm curious as to what kind of response you received after you treated it as legitimate.

Shelley: I agree with Laura. "Thank yous" are always appreciated.

In response to Cooper's comment I hope you don't mind if I let you know that I've made a blog post with the various points often discussed about potential scam emails (we talk about this often on Wetcanvas). Hopefully it can help us spot the scammers more easily. It's at http://tina-m.blogspot.com/2007/09/for-artists-some-words-of-warning.html
And of course I've given you a click-back link. :)

I haven't received such a vague email (yet) but have had to deal with vague phone calls from gallery owners. These are the calls from galleries interested in my work or who wish to place an order but don't introduce themselves in their salutation. The typical "greeting" is "Hi, Is this Moonroom Crafts? I'd like to place an order." It is then up to me to be pleasant, ask who is calling ("May I have your name/business name?") and proceed from there. I guess I just find it rather unprofessional for a gallery or store owner/manager/assistant to present themselves this way on the phone. Fortunately all of these inquiries have been legitimate and all have paid in a timely manner.

This is hilarious! I just got an email from Helen at the same URL (edwcrouch.us) who wants to know which of my works are for sale. As IF there are any artworks for sale at all on my Web site.

Well, Edward contacted me too. I had seen this post so I was courteous but wary. I heard back which paintings he wanted to buy but no more info about him. He said he would be having someone pick them up - and wanted to know prices.

I had checked out his website listed and it was a list of links, but it was there.

So I sent him to my website (as suggested) to the page with the list of prices of different size prints I offer.

He came back with sized - that I don't offer. Then I told him that if he were interested, I could make those prints available through my Imagekind Shop.

I haven't heard back yet ... but I figured that was a good solution ... if he is legit, he will be glad to buy through Imagekind.

Great that we can share here and help each other!!

~ Diane Clancy
www.dianeclancy.com/blog

This is undoubtedly a scam and I have had several similar - I had one from 'Helen' today at helenknott@edwcrouch.us. These days if I get something that I am suspicous but not certain of I Google the e-mail address. This is the result - a whole site about spammers and scammers! Enjoy...

http://www.joewein.de/sw/419domains.htm

Just an update ... I haven't heard from him since I sent him to Imagekind to buy.

~ Diane Clancy
www.dianeclancy.com/blog

The comments to this entry are closed.